09 September 2016

Sweet Little Lies // Shalvis Strikes Again With An Interesting New Series Starter

30173158
Published: 28th July 2016
Source: Publisher (Headline Eternal)
Genre: Romance, Contemporary
My Rating:
Sweet Little Lies is the first in New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis's Heartbreaker Bay series, featuring her trademark gift for humour, warmth and romance. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Debbie Macomber, Nora Roberts and Marie Force.

Choose the one guy you can't have... As captain of a San Francisco Bay tour boat, Pru can handle rough seas - the hard part is life on dry land. Pru loves her new apartment and her neighbors; problem is, she's in danger of stumbling into love with Mr. Right for Anybody But Her.

Fall for him - hard... Pub owner Finn O'Riley is six-foot-plus of hard-working hottie who always makes time for his friends. When Pru becomes one of them, she discovers how amazing it feels to be on the receiving end of that deep green gaze. But when a freak accident involving darts (don't ask) leads to shirtless first aid, things rush way past the friend zone. Fast.

And then tell him the truth. Pru only wants Finn to be happy; it's what she wishes for at the historic fountain that's supposed to grant her heart's desire. But wanting him for herself is a different story-because Pru's been keeping a secret that could change everything...

Want more warm, funny romance? Visit gorgeous Cedar Ridge, spellbinding Lucky Harbor or experience some Animal Magnetism in Sunshine, Idaho in Jill's other unforgettable series.
I am a major Jill Shalvis fangirl. I think this has been established with every other review I’ve done for one of her books. As such, it should come as no surprise I enjoyed this book as well. I didn’t love it as much as I loved the first book in her Cedar Ridge series, but I still really enjoyed it.

Jill Shalvis Proves She Can Be Relied Upon


One thing which is demonstrated with every book Shalvis writes is that she can be relied upon to always deliver a fantastic contemporary romance with every book. She always writes really good relatable characters and they may end up creating unnecessary drama for themselves but I still enjoy reading their troubles.

In this book we meet a large group of people who live in one building and you see they may be friends but they are also a family. And then there is newcomer Pru who is coming into this group and this building with secrets no one else knows and is finding herself trying to improve Finn O’Riley’s life. She has her reasons for wanting to do this and she thinks she will best achieve it by

The Negatives (If I Can Claim There Are Any)


The only flaw, for me, was the fact it took me so long to get into the story! I couldn’t figure out why I didn’t like Pru, but I didn’t connect with her when I first got reading. I think it because of the continual illusions to the ‘big secret’ for why she felt responsible for Finn’s life and happiness. I was annoyed it was so secret and once it was revealed I felt really let down. I understood the basis of the logic but it still seemed pretty damn illogical.

I know, it’s a stupid reason to rate a book down but that’s how I felt. Luckily for me the book soon picked up and I forgot that niggling feeling of annoyance at the story development because I was falling in love with Pru and Finn’s relationship and screaming for secrets to be revealed and people to just be honest with each other.

So I Complained About The Ridiculous But Did I Love It?


Of course I did you crazy people. I am so excited to see where the Heartbreaker Bay series is going to go because there are so many interesting characters who you get to meet in this first book. The relationship which develops between Finn and Pru is sweet but I feel like there is a lot more to come with this. It’s probably the reason I’ve not given a higher rating as there is a whole lot of build up for other characters and I am reserving judgment until we get their stories too.

Do you have an author whose books you can’t help but rave about every time? Have you read any Jill Shalvis, and if so which is your favourite?

No comments:

Post a Comment