04 April 2016

Looking Forward // April

Looking Forward_zps3hettxt8.png
Looking Forward is a regular feature on the blog where I let you know which books I’m looking forward to in the month. I won’t buy all the books featured but they are all books I’m looking forward to being released and want to know if you’re excited about them too. Also, all dates are the released I can find (unless they’re not available) for the UK, because that’s where I live and I like to try and keep to when I can get the books.
26791238
Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Young Adult
Release Date: 7th April 2016
23288804
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Release Date: 19th April 2016
THE EPIC NEW THRILLER CONTINUES.

The second book in the mind-blowing new supernatural thriller from bestselling author DEREK LANDY, creator of international sensation Skulduggery Pleasant.

Reeling from their bloody encounter in New York City, Amber and Milo flee north. On their trail are the Hounds of Hell – five demonic bikers who will stop at nothing to drag their quarries back to their unholy master.

Amber and Milo’s only hope lies within Desolation Hill – a small town with a big secret; a town with a darkness to it, where evil seeps through the very floorboards. Until, on one night every year, it spills over onto the streets and all hell breaks loose.

And that night is coming.
It's all fun and parties until someone falls in love in this modern fairy tale from author Kate Evangelista.

Caleb desperately needs a fake girlfriend. Either he attends a series of parties for his father’s law firm with a pretty girl on his arm, or he gets shipped off to Yale to start a future he’s not ready for and isn’t sure he wants. And sadly, the last unattached girl in his social circle has just made the grievous mistake of falling in love with him. Fortunately, Didi, recently fired waitress and aspiring painter, is open to new experiences. As the summer ticks by in a whirl of lavish parties, there’s only one rule: They must not fall in love!

Why Am I Excited?


I don’t think I really mentioned the first book on my blog but I actually quite enjoyed it. I didn’t fall head over heels in love, but it was funny and interesting and funny! It was this whole new world of writing opened to me and I enjoyed it. The book had so many things happening, so many short storylines and I’m glad I read it so I definitely plan on continuing that adventure.

Why Am I Excited?


Honestly? I’m not sure. I forget about the Swoon Reads books until I go to their website and find myself adding every book they have coming up for release on to my to buy list. They just seem to release books which appeal to me and this is another one.

I think it’s the fake girlfriend trope which has got me intrigued. It’s one of my favourite tropes to read about. I know it’s a stupid cliché but I can’t help but love reading books like this one and I hope this is just as good as the rest.
25320766
Genre: Young Adult, Historical Fiction, Romance
Release Date: 19th April 2016
18633327
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, Retelling
Release Date: 21st April 2016
Juliana Telford is not your average nineteenth-century young lady. She’s much more interested in researching ladybugs than marriage, fashionable dresses, or dances. So when her father sends her to London for a season, she’s determined not to form any attachments. Instead, she plans to secretly publish their research.

Spencer Northam is not the average young gentleman of leisure he appears. He is actually a spy for the War Office, and is more focused on acing his first mission than meeting eligible ladies. Fortunately, Juliana feels the same, and they agree to pretend to fall for each other. Spencer can finally focus, until he is tasked with observing Juliana’s traveling companions . . . and Juliana herself.
This version of the Bennet family—and Mr. Darcy—is one that you have and haven’t met before: Liz is a magazine writer in her late thirties who, like her yoga instructor older sister, Jane, lives in New York City. When their father has a health scare, they return to their childhood home in Cincinnati to help—and discover that the sprawling Tudor they grew up in is crumbling and the family is in disarray.

Youngest sisters Kitty and Lydia are too busy with their CrossFit workouts and Paleo diets to get jobs. Mary, the middle sister, is earning her third online master’s degree and barely leaves her room, except for those mysterious Tuesday-night outings she won’t discuss. And Mrs. Bennet has one thing on her mind: how to marry off her daughters, especially as Jane’s fortieth birthday fast approaches.

Enter Chip Bingley, a handsome new-in-town doctor who recently appeared on the juggernaut reality TV dating show Eligible. At a Fourth of July barbecue, Chip takes an immediate interest in Jane, but Chip’s friend neurosurgeon Fitzwilliam Darcy reveals himself to Liz to be much less charming. . . .

And yet, first impressions can be deceiving.

Wonderfully tender and hilariously funny, ELIGIBLE both honors and updates Austen’s beloved tale. Tackling gender, class, courtship, and family, Sittenfeld reaffirms herself as one of the most dazzling authors writing today.

Why Am I Excited?


I have been wanting to read this book ever since I added it to my to buy list in the middle of January. This is just my kind of book some how. There is not just one single thing which appeals to me, it’s all of it. It’s the fact it has a female lead who doesn’t wish to conform to societies expectations of her. It’s the fact it includes spies! And then there is the fact they pretend to fall for each other! I mean, all my boxes are ticked and I am waiting to get this book in the post (once I’ve bought it… which I definitely shouldn’t do until I’ve read those other books on my bed side table).

Why Am I Excited?


The Austen Project is one I have been quietly enjoying for the past few years. I impulsively bought the first book in the project, Northanger Abbey, after reading a review about it in the Metro (the free newspaper you get on public transport by me) and then chancing upon it doing my weekly shop. I’m glad I did because these retellings are fun. Are they ground-breaking? Probably not, but they still are true to the original and interesting and I am obviously going to buy the retelling of Pride and Prejudice.
23308084
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling
Release Date: 26th April 2016
25203675
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
The much anticipated sequel to the breathtaking The Wrath and the Dawn, lauded by Publishers Weekly as "a potent page-turner of intrigue and romance."
I am surrounded on all sides by a desert. A guest, in a prison of sand and sun. My family is here. And I do not know whom I can trust.
In a land on the brink of war, Shahrzad has been torn from the love of her husband Khalid, the Caliph of Khorasan. She once believed him a monster, but his secrets revealed a man tormented by guilt and a powerful curse—one that might keep them apart forever. Reunited with her family, who have taken refuge with enemies of Khalid, and Tariq, her childhood sweetheart, she should be happy. But Tariq now commands forces set on destroying Khalid's empire. Shahrzad is almost a prisoner caught between loyalties to people she loves. But she refuses to be a pawn and devises a plan.

While her father, Jahandar, continues to play with magical forces he doesn't yet understand, Shahrzad tries to uncover powers that may lie dormant within her. With the help of a tattered old carpet and a tempestuous but sage young man, Shahrzad will attempt to break the curse and reunite with her one true love.
Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you're only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of Death and Destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father's kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran's queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar's wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire...

But Akaran has its own secrets -- thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most. . .including herself.

A lush and vivid story that is steeped in Indian folklore and mythology. The Star-Touched Queen is a novel that no reader will soon forget.

Why Am I Excited?


I have been excited about this book ever since I finished The Wrath and the Dawn. I mean, the ending of that book! I need more. I plan to reread the first (because I can) then there are a couple of novellas I’ll be reading and then I will experience the joy of this masterpiece because I cannot wait to revisit this world. It was breath-taking and I need more.

Why Am I Excited?


This is a book I rolled my eyes at when I first saw the cover. I had just finished The Wrath and the Dawn and thought this was going to try and be that book. Then I read the summary and made grabby hands at the computer screen because this sounds like a masterpiece all of it’s own.

This book sounds so unique. So original! This book sounds like it takes all these things I know nothing about and will want to explore in depth. I mean, it mentions Indian mythology and the small bits I know of Indian mythology tell me this will be a spectacular read.

There are my biggest books for April that I will hopefully be purchasing. They are all really intriguing reads which I want to get my hands on. I would also like to give a book an honourable mention below because I have already read it, but if I hadn’t won an ARC copy of it it would most definitely have been featured on this list.

27235365
When We Collided – Emery Lord
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Release Date: 7th April 2016 (UK)
Meet Vivi and Jonah: A girl and a boy whose love has the power save or destroy them.

Vivi and Jonah couldn't be more different. Vivi craves anything joyful or beautiful that life can offer. Jonah has been burdened by responsibility for his family ever since his father died. As summer begins, Jonah resigns himself to another season of getting by. Then Vivi arrives, and suddenly life seems brighter and better. Jonah is the perfect project for Vivi, and things finally feel right for Jonah. Their love is the answer to everything. But soon Vivi's zest for life falters, as her adventurousness becomes true danger-seeking. Jonah tries to keep her safe, but there's something important Vivi hasn't told him.

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Jandy Nelson, When We Collided is a powerful story of two teens whose love is put to the test by forces beyond their control.
Are you excited for any of the books on this list? Have I missed any April releases you think I should be looking forward to?

No comments:

Post a Comment