19 December 2016

The Trouble With Mistletoe // A Book I Just Really Enjoyed Because Of Reasons

30173156
Published: 27th September 2016
Source: Publisher
Genre: Romance, Contemporary
My Rating:
The Trouble With Mistletoe is the second in New York Timesbestselling author Jill Shalvis's Heartbreaker Bay series, featuring her trademark gift for humour, warmth and romance. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Debbie Macomber, Nora Roberts and Marie Force.

If she has her way... Willa Davis is wrangling puppies when Keane Winters stalks into her pet shop with frustration in his chocolate-brown eyes and a pink bedazzled cat carrier in his hand. He needs a kitty sitter, stat. But the last thing Willa needs is to rescue a guy who doesn't even remember her...

He'll get nothing but coal in his stocking. Saddled with his great-aunt's Feline from Hell, Keane is desperate to leave her in someone else's capable hands. But in spite of the fact that he's sure he's never seen the drop-dead-gorgeous pet shop owner before, she seems to be mad at him...

Unless he tempers 'naughty' with a special kind of nice... Willa can't deny that Keane's changed since high school: he's less arrogant, for one thing - but he doesn't even remember her. How can she trust him not to break her heart again? It's time to throw a coin in the fountain, make a Christmas wish - and let the mistletoe do its work...

Want more warm, funny romance? Check out the first Heartbreaker Bay novel, Sweet Little Lies, visit gorgeous Cedar Ridge, spellbinding Lucky Harbor or experience some Animal Magnetism in Sunshine, Idaho in Jill's other unforgettable series.
Look, before we get to the good reviewing stuff I will begin by saying that I am a massive fan of Jill Shalvis. I always enjoy her books and it is no different with this one. I may have grumbles when it comes to her books but I always enjoy the way she writes and she always makes me smile. I just wanted to make you aware I am biased and was predisposed to love this book before even reading the first page.

Let’s Go Forth To The Review


Jill Shalvis proved, once more, she is the queen of contemporary romance. I was swooning and laughing and cheering on Keane and Willa every step of the way. I wish I knew how Shalvis managed to hook me in every time but I just can't figure it out. All I know is I put off leaving the house Saturday morning just so I could get to the end.

Much like the last book I was frustrated by the secrets kept at the beginning. I wanted Willa to just own up to Keane that she knew who he was and that she was still a little annoyed at him and her irrational grudge. It would have cleared the air between them sooner. Luckily, this time the secret comes out far sooner and isn't a major issue. I'm glad of that fact because I may have gotten annoyed at Heartbreak Bay if it had. That being said, I know Kaja said in her review that the fact that Keane had slighted Willa at high school by standing her up for a date seemed a bit of a strange thing to hold a grudge for. Especially as the two never really knew each other to begin with. I would have understood this barrier to their relationship more if they had been friends and he had stood her up and her holding a grudge. It was resolved in the early part of the book, though so I won’t hold that against the book.

Thankfully the issue in this book is actually Keane and Willa and the fact they are struggling with some emotional damage inflicted upon them at a young age and their inability to overcome it. I loved that it was simply the fact they were scared to let someone in so close that was stopping them getting together as I think that is something a lot of people can relate to. Falling in love is scary and the emotional damage letting someone in close to you can cause is terrifying. But if you never did anything because you might get hurt then you'd never get out of bed. I loved the characters realised and this and grew as I turned each page. They grew and developed and it was awesome.

My Verdict Is?


In the end, I loved this book. It isn’t my Shalvis by far, but it was still enjoyable and leaves me optimistic I will continue to enjoy the rest of the series. I loved the growth and the realisations both and Keane and Willa experienced and I loved the fact that they were willing to change and grow throughout the book and didn’t let their fears take over. It was just a really great romance, you know? I would recommend it for contemporary fans (if you haven’t already).

Have you read this, what did you think? What is your favourite Shalvis book? And what is your favourite contemporary romance as I am always on the hunt to expand my collection?

No comments:

Post a Comment