16 July 2014

Some #sexmeupreadathon Recommendations (Part 1)



I said I was going to do some recommendations in the lead up to the readathon. The readathon begins next week, on Monday. So I’m going to do a couple of posts this week about the readathon and some recommendations. These res are not limited to the readathon, they are books which I genuinely recommend you read if you happen to enjoy a good romance.

As a dedicated romance reader I feel I have some knowledge about romance books. Now the romance I tend to read comes in the form of new adult books and books which would have formerly been deemed chick-lit, I don’t know what it gets classed as anymore. I am going to begin with my recommendations for that which I would class as being chick-lit. The characters are all grown up, they have lives, jobs, houses, etc. They have responsibilities. There are going to be some crossover, my new adult list will have grown ups in as well, I don’t know. It’s difficult to classify.

16243247
The Second Chance Cafe – Alison Kent
Genre: Romance
Sexual Rating: Light
My Rating:
Kaylie Flynn was luckier than most children left to the Texas foster care system, blessed with a foster mother who taught her the comfort of home - and the healing power of baking the perfect brownie. Now, Kaylie has journeyed back to Hope Springs to open a cafe in the charming Victorian she once shared with her foster family - and to finally find answers about her past and where she came from.

Yet Kaylie's carefully laid plans quickly become complicated. The house needs far more work than she realized, and Tennessee Keller, the carpenter Kaylie hires, stirs up feelings she hasn't felt in a long while. When an unexpected crisis threatens to unravel her dreams, Kaylie seems to have all the ingredients for a perfect disaster - or quite possibly the perfect love
18280662
Genre: Romance
Sexual Rating: mild/medium
My Rating:
A Chicago reporter in her mid-twenties unexpectedly finds love in Napa Valley when she’s assigned to spend a week with a famously reclusive genius.

Kate Corbin has lost her spark. From the outside, her life seems charmed. She has a handsome, long-term boyfriend and a budding journalism career at a popular Chicago newspaper. But in reality, her relationship is going nowhere, and she’s quickly losing motivation for what she once believed was her dream job. When her boyfriend dumps her unceremoniously, Kate loses all hope of finding love.

With no living family and few friends, Kate confides in her boss. Trusting that the hungry, ace reporter is buried somewhere deep inside, he gives Kate the opportunity to jumpstart her career. The assignment: to interview the famously reclusive R.J. Lawson, a wealthy tech genius who disappeared years ago but recently reemerged as a Napa Valley vintner. The week takes an unexpected turn, however, when Lawson refuses to divulge any information. Desperate for a lead, Kate turns to Jamie, a vineyard hand who shows her the romance of wine country—and stirs her aching heart. But his connection to Lawson is ambiguous, and when Jamie disappears before the end of the week, Kate is left to investigate another story: the truth behind the man who stole her heart.

USA TODAY bestselling author RenĂ©e Carlino explored love and heartbreak in her beautifully written debut Sweet Thing, and her newest novel does not disappoint. For fans of Colleen Hoover, K.A. Tucker, and Katja Millay, Nowhere But Here is a stirring and satisfying romance that you won’t want to put down
19286433Some Girls Do – Clodagh Murphy
Genre: Romance
Secual Rating: medium/sexy
My Rating:
Claire Kennedy is NiceGirl, the anonymous author of steamy online blog 'Scenes of a Sexual Nature'. An internet sensation, she attracts the attention of Mark Bell, a hot London publisher. But when it becomes clear that Mark is interested in more than just a book deal, Claire has to act fast. Because little does Mark know that NiceGirl is a lot more experienced in the bedroom than real-life Claire Kennedy.

Mark is offering Claire the life she's always dreamed of - a steady relationship, the literary world of London and a posh Highgate apartment.

But when Claire hires the services of struggling artist and commitment-phobe Luca to brush up on her sex skills, things get more complicated...

Great sex, friendship AND love ... can't a girl have it all?
18044463
Genre: Romance
Sexual Rating: Light
My Rating:
When Alexis “Lexi” Moreau caught her husband, Jeff, sampling the sous-chef’s more intimate wares in their New York restaurant, she ran—all the way back to her hometown of St. Helena, California. Six months later, Lexi has no husband and no restaurant. But she does have a three-step plan: First, convert her grandmother’s bakery into her dream bistro. Second, ignore Grandma’s matchmaking attempts. And third, avoid Marco DeLuca, her ex’s commitment-phobic, distractingly sexy best friend.

In school Lexi was off-limits for Marco. After all, she was his buddy’s girl. But she’s still as smart and as gorgeous—and apparently as immune to his charms—as she used to be. Yet the simple fake romance they agree upon to dodge Lexi’s grandmother’s matchmaking plans soon turns deliciously complicated. And the sultry summer might bring together all the right ingredients for Marco to win the only woman he’s ever wanted
111974
Bet Me – Jenny Crusie
Genre: Romance
Sexual Rating: Mild/Light
My Rating:
Minerva Dobbs knows that happily-ever-after is a fairy tale, especially with a man who asked her to dinner to win a bet.

Cal Morrisey knows commitment is impossible - especially with a woman as cranky as Min Dobbs...

When they say good-bye at the end of their evening, they cut their losses and agree never to see each other again.

But Fate has other plans - and it's not long...
384458
Genre: Romance
Sexual Rating: mild/light
My Rating:
A hilarious and heartfelt tale by the master of romantic comedy, Jennifer Crusie!


Dumped by her boyfriend and demoted from WBBB's prime-time spot, radio producer Allie McGuffey has nowhere to go but up. She plans to make her comeback by turning temporary DJ Charlie Tenniel into a household name. And if he's willing to help cure her breakup blues with a rebound fling, that's an added bonus.

Charlie just wants to kick back, play good tunes and eat Chinese food. He's not interested in becoming famous. But he is interested in Allie. And after all, what harm is a little chemistry between friends?

But suddenly their one-night stand has become a four-week addiction. Night after night on the airwaves, his voice seduces her…and all the other women in town. He's a hit. It looks as if Charlie's solved all Allie's problems…except one. What is she going to do when he leaves?
Six books for a post seems like more than enough, right? These are the ones which can be read independently, I think I’ll do another post for some series, although New Adult books tend to always be a part of a series. I’ll also have post dedicated to the new adult, collegey, post college type books. I’m thinking this may be a three parter. I trilogy of book recommendations.

No comments:

Post a Comment